Lorecast

ROUTE 66 · APPS

Route 66 apps compared

Navigation, guidebooks or audio stories: what the main Route 66 apps do, what they cost, and where they work.

  • Checked 9 October 2026
  • 8 apps

How we compared them

There is no single “Route 66 app”. Some apps navigate the old alignments, some are guidebooks, and some play audio stories as you drive. This page lists what each one says it does, what it costs and where it works, with a link for every fact.

We checked each App Store and Google Play page and each developer’s website on 9 October 2026. Ratings are the US store figures on that day. For apps that cover many places, the rating is for the whole app, not just Route 66.

Lorecast publishes this page and is one of the apps listed. We describe it the same way as the others, including what it does not do.

At a glance

AppWhat it isRoute 66 coveragePrice (US)PlatformsRatings: App Store / Google Play
Route 66 NavigationNavigation + points of interestWhole route, both directionsFree download; navigation 7 days $19.99 or 1 year $39.99iPhone, Android2.8 (198) / 2.2 (454)
RT66 GuideGuide + navigation + audio toursNot statedFree; Premium $9.99 (Android version shows ads)iPhone, Android3.9 (122) / 3.1 (133)
Route 66 Ultimate Guide (2026)Guide + navigation + audio toursNot statedFreeiPhone, Android1.3 (23) / none yet
Route 66 Centennial GuideGuide with narration290 sites in all eight states$6.99 one-time, no in-app purchasesiPhone4.7 (22) / not on Google Play
AutioAudio storiesSays all eight states; no Route 66 story count givenFirst 5 stories free; plans from $14.99 (14 days) to $69.99 (3 years)iPhone, Android4.8 (4,256) / 3.2 (62)
GuideAlong: Arizona’s Route 66 TourAudio tourArizona: Petrified Forest to TopockTour from $26.66, one-timeiPhone, Android4.9 (15,990) / 4.9 (1,767), whole app
TravelStorys: Route 66 – East Meets WestAudio walking tourDowntown Tulsa, OklahomaFreeiPhone, Android4.9 (1,752) / 4.6 (380), whole app
LorecastAudio storiesWhole route, about 1,500 places (no stories for Kansas yet)Route 66 free through Dec 31, 2027iPhone, Androidnone yet / none yet

Ratings are stars (number of ratings) on the US App Store and Google Play on 9 October 2026; “none yet” means the store showed no rating. Prices are as listed on that day and can change.

Each app in detail

Route 66 Navigation

Touch Media, s.r.o.

What it is: Turn-by-turn navigation along the historic road, with points of interest.

  • Turn-by-turn directions for historic Route 66 westbound and eastbound, with a main route and a second route that follows older alignments. source
  • Lists 1,300+ attractions with on-screen notifications, day-by-day trip planning, and closures and detours marked on the map. A 2022 version note says the points of interest were collected and described by Route 66 author and historian Jim Hinckley. source
  • The free tier shows points of interest, events and news; navigation needs a 7-day or 1-year licence. The developer’s site lists Weekly $19.99 and Annual $39.99, with offline maps and offline voice navigation as paid features. source
  • Supports Apple CarPlay. Voice is used for directions; attractions appear as on-screen notifications rather than narrated stories. source
  • Its logo appears among the Centennial Supporting Partnerships on the official Route 66 Centennial website. source

Where to get it (checked 9 October 2026)

  • App Store: free, in-app purchases · 2.8 stars, 198 ratings
  • Google Play: free, in-app purchases $19.99–$49.99 · 2.2 stars, 454 reviews

RT66 Guide

McCoyCORE USA LLC

What it is: A trip-planning guide with points of interest, audio tours, passport stamps and turn-by-turn navigation.

  • The listing names trip planning, details on thousands of points of interest, a Virtual Passport, audio tours, turn-by-turn navigation, Route 66 news, an event calendar and a field guide. source
  • This app was published as “Route 66 Ultimate Guide” and changed its icon and title in May 2026 (version 5.1.2). The same publisher released a new app under the old name in April 2026, listed below. source
  • A 2024 flyer for the app lists over 1,800 points of interest, voice turn-by-turn navigation and routing for RVs and motorcycles. source

Where to get it (checked 9 October 2026)

  • App Store: free, Premium $9.99 · 3.9 stars, 122 ratings
  • Google Play: free, contains ads, in-app purchase $9.99 · 3.1 stars, 133 reviews

Route 66 Ultimate Guide (2026)

McCoyCORE USA LLC

What it is: The publisher’s rebuilt guide app, with the same feature list as RT66 Guide.

  • Described as a “completely rebuilt app experience with improved navigation, faster performance, and instant POI updates”, with trip planning, points of interest, a Virtual Passport, audio tours and turn-by-turn navigation. source
  • First released on the App Store on 30 April 2026; no in-app purchases are listed. source

Where to get it (checked 9 October 2026)

Route 66 Centennial Guide

Poul David Rasmussen (PDR Heritage Roads)

What it is: A written and narrated guide to 290 selected sites along the whole route.

  • Covers 290 researched sites across Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona and California, and opens each stop in Apple Maps or Google Maps for navigation. source
  • Offers historical text for every site and “professional audio narration” you can play through the car over Bluetooth. Content works without a data connection, except navigation. source
  • Its images are described as AI-generated. The listing does not say whether the narration voice is human or synthetic. source
  • Published independently; the listing does not describe a connection to the official Route 66 Centennial program. source

Where to get it (checked 9 October 2026)

Autio

Autio Inc.

What it is: GPS-triggered audio stories across the United States, including Route 66.

  • Lists 20,000+ location-based audio stories, generally 2–3 minutes long, that play based on your location and interests. source
  • Autio’s Route 66 page says its stories cover the road’s landmarks, towns and history across all eight states, and recommends a separate guidebook or navigation app for directions. source
  • Many stories are narrated by well-known voices, including Kevin Costner, Phil Jackson and John Lithgow. source
  • Stories can be downloaded ahead of low-signal areas. Available in English, with stories in the United States. source

Where to get it (checked 9 October 2026)

  • App Store: free to try, then plans · 4.8 stars, 4,256 ratings
  • Google Play: free to try, in-app purchases $14.99–$35.99 · 3.2 stars, 62 reviews

GuideAlong: Arizona’s Route 66 Tour

Gypsy Guide LLC

What it is: A GPS audio tour of Route 66 in Arizona, one of 100+ tours in the GuideAlong app.

  • The Arizona’s Route 66 tour has 340+ audio points from Petrified Forest National Park to Topock, just before the California line, for over 300 miles; it can be driven east or west. source
  • Audio plays automatically based on your location and direction, works offline, and plays through Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. source
  • A one-time purchase with no expiry; the website lists the tour from $26.66. English only. source

Where to get it (checked 9 October 2026)

  • App Store: free app, tours as in-app purchases · 4.9 stars, 15,990 ratings (whole app)
  • Google Play: free app, tours as in-app purchases · 4.9 stars, 1,767 reviews (whole app)

TravelStorys: Route 66 – East Meets West

TravelStorysGPS, LLC; tour by the Route 66 Alliance

What it is: A free walking tour of historic downtown Tulsa in the TravelStorys audio-tour app.

  • The tour catalog lists “Route 66 – East Meets West”, a walking tour of historic downtown Tulsa produced by the Route 66 Alliance, in English and free. source
  • Audio plays automatically as you approach each story site, and tours can be downloaded for offline use. source

Where to get it (checked 9 October 2026)

  • App Store: free · 4.9 stars, 1,752 ratings (whole app)
  • Google Play: free · 4.6 stars, 380 reviews (whole app)

Lorecast

Lorecast (Stan Karas)

What it is: GPS-triggered audio stories for places along the whole route. Not a navigation app.

  • As you drive, the next story starts on its own for the place coming up ahead. Use your usual maps app for directions. source
  • Every story lists its sources (Wikipedia, the National Register of Historic Places and others), and legends are labeled as legends. source
  • Stories are written with AI from those sources and narrated with synthetic voices (Miles for history, Della for legends). English only. source
  • Save the road before you go and stories keep playing without signal. Route 66 is free through December 31, 2027; other regions are paid. source
  • New in September 2026, with no ratings yet on either store. source

Where to get it (checked 9 October 2026)

  • App Store: free; Route 66 free through 2027 · no ratings yet
  • Google Play: free; Route 66 free through 2027 · no rating yet

Which one fits your trip

If you want directions that keep you on the old alignments, start with a navigation app: Route 66 Navigation, or the turn-by-turn feature in RT66 Guide and Route 66 Ultimate Guide.

If you like to read about stops and plan each day ahead, the guide apps are built for that: RT66 Guide, Route 66 Ultimate Guide and Route 66 Centennial Guide.

If you want stories to play while you drive, look at the audio apps: Autio and Lorecast for the whole road, GuideAlong for Arizona, and TravelStorys for a walk around downtown Tulsa.

Many travelers use two apps together: one for directions and one for stories. Lorecast is designed to run alongside your maps app.

HEAR IT ON THE ROAD

Try Lorecast on Route 66. It is free through 2027.

Lorecast plays short stories about the places around you, hands-free. Download Route 66 before you leave and it works offline. Route 66 is free through December 31, 2027.

Lorecast publishes this page and is one of the apps compared. We list only what each store page or official site states, with links, as of 9 October 2026. Prices and ratings change; check the store before you buy. Corrections: hello@lorecast.net.